Documentation Home »User Guide »Customers and Customer Users »Customer User Roles
current version

Customer User Roles

Overview

Note

See a short demo on how to create customer roles in OroCommerce, or keep reading the step-by-step guidance below.

In Customer User Roles section, you can view, edit and create new customer roles to define the level of permissions and access to the actions and data in OroCommerce store frontend for the users of this role.

The following roles are predefined and available for every customer by default:

  • Administrator
  • Buyer
  • Non-authenticated user

Any new role is labeled as customizable and may apply either to the customer specified in the role details or globally for all customers when the customer is not provided.

With the Customer User Role you can manage the following access- and permissions-related settings:

  • Profile management permission: A user may be able to view and edit their user profile, when the Self-Managed option is enabled for their role.

  • Permissions to view workflows and/or perform transitions through the workflow steps.

  • Data access/management permissions and capabilities that are organized in the following groups:

    • Account Management permissions to view, create, edit, delete, and, optionally, assign the following items:

      • Address (customer address)
      • Customer
      • Customer user
      • Customer user address
    • Account Management capabilities:

      • Access data audit
      • Access system information
      • Audit history for Customer User
      • Enter the billing address manually
      • Enter the shipping address manually
      • Override customer payment term
      • Use any billing address from the customer address book
      • Use any billing address from the customer user’s address book
      • Use any shipping address from the customer address book
      • Use any shipping address from the customer user’s address book
      • Use the default billing address from the customer user’s address book
      • Use the default shipping address from the customer user’s address book
      • Work with payments
      • [Attribute] Create attribute
      • [Attribute] Edit attribute
      • [Attribute] Manage attributes
      • [Attribute] Remove attribute
      • [Attribute] Restore attribute
      • [Product Family] Create Product Family
      • [Product Family] Delete Product Family
      • [Product Family] Edit Product Family
      • [Product Family] Manage Product Families
      • [Product Family] View Product Family
      • [Quote] Enter the shipping address manually
      • [Quote] Enter the shipping address manually
      • [Quote] Override customer payment term
      • [Quote] Use any shipping address from the customer address book
      • [Quote] Use any shipping address from the customer address book
      • [Quote] Use any shipping address from the customer user’s address book
      • [Quote] Use any shipping address from the customer user’s address book
      • [Quote] Use the default shipping address from the customer user’s address book
      • [Quote] Use the default shipping address from the customer user’s address book
    • Shopping permissions to view, create, edit, delete, and, optionally, assign the following items:

      • Product Price
      • Shopping List
      • Shopping List Line Item
    • Quotes permissions to view, create, edit, delete, and, optionally, assign the following items:

      • Quote
      • Request for Quote
    • Checkout permissions to view, create, edit, delete, and, optionally, assign the following items:

      • Open Order
    • Checkout capabilities:

      • Approve orders that exceed the allowable amount
      • Enter the billing address manually
      • Enter the shipping address manually
      • Use any billing address from the customer address book
      • Use any billing address from the customer user’s address book
      • Use any shipping address from the customer address book
      • Use any shipping address from the customer user’s address book
      • Use the default billing address from the customer user’s address book
      • Use the default shipping address from the customer user’s address book
    • Orders permissions to view, create, edit, delete, and, optionally, assign the following items:

      • Invoice
      • Order
    • System capabilities:

      • Address

        • Access address drop-downs
      • Application

        • Access job queue
        • Access job queue
        • Access personal configuration
        • Access system configuration
        • Assign/unassign tags
        • Export grid view
        • Manage Menus
        • Manage passwords
        • Select the assignee of the integration
        • Share grid view
        • Unassign other tags
        • Unshare grid view
        • Update User Profile (enables the customer user to update their profile under Account > My Profile in the front store)
        • View SQL query of a report/segment
      • Calendar

        • Manage organization calendar events
        • Manage system calendar events
        • Manage system calendars
      • Entity

        • Access entity management
        • Export entity records
        • Import entity records
        • Merge entities
        • Search

Finally, in the customer role details, you may view customer users with this role assigned. If the role is global, this list contains users from all customer accounts.

Note

Please note that there are two ways to control the capability of a customer user to update their profile details in the front store. One is defined by the Edit permission for Customer Users. When set to Same Level/All Levels, editing will become possible under Account > All Users in the front store. The second one is defined by the Update User Profile capability which, when enabled, gives the customer user permissions to update details under Account > My Profile in the front store.

Create a Customer User Role

To create a new Customer User Role, navigate to Customers > Customer User Roles in the main menu and click Create Customer User Role.

Preview:

You can perform the following actions at the customer user role creation page:

  • Cancel
  • Save And Close

Related Information

Browse maintained versions:
current1.41.5
ssossossosso