Skip over navigation
Documentation

Configure Customers

In OroCommerce, you can set up a number of customer-related configuration options on three levels: globally, per organization and per website. You can also configure product and category visibility to customers globally.

Configure Customer User Options Globally

To change the default customer user configuration settings globally:

  1. Navigate to System > Configuration in the main menu.

  2. Select Commerce > Customer > Customer Users in the menu to the left.

    Note

    For faster navigation between the configuration menu sections, use Quick Search.

    The following page opens:

    ../../../../_images/CustomerUsers.png
  3. The following configuration options are available:

    • Default Customer Owner — Service information that determines which user has full access to managing and viewing customer information. Usually, this is the default customer administrator or the administrator assigned to the customer. Applies to the customers created in the management console as well as to those who register on the OroCommerce website.

    • Registration Allowed — Enables/disables registration of new customers from the storefront login screen.

    • Confirmation Required — Enables/disables the email confirmation step following user registration.

    • Show Registration Link — Shows/hides the registration link from the storefront login screen. The link is next to the Sign In link in the top bar.

    • Auto Login —Enables/disables customer users to login after registration or email confirmation. Disabled by default.

    • Required Company Name — Shows/hides the company name field in the registration form in the storefront. Required for individual customers who do not belong to any company.

    • Show Registration Instructions — Enables/disables registration instructions on the storefront login page. This option is disabled by default.

    • Registration Instructions Text — If Show Registration Instructions is enabled, the text provided in the field is displayed on the storefront login page.

      ../../../../_images/CustomerUsersRegistrationFrontStore.png
    • Case-Insensitive Email Addresses — If this option is enabled, the letter case is ignored when comparing email addresses. For example, john.doe@example.com and John.Doe@example.com are treated equally. By default, the option is disabled.

    • Customer Visitor Cookie Lifetime (Days) — Once the provided period expires, active customer visitor (anonymous user) sessions will be reset.

    • Enable API Key Generation — Enable/disable automatic generation of API access keys for new customer users.

  4. To customize any of these options:

    1. Clear the Use Default box next to the option.
    2. Select the new option.
  5. Click Save Settings.

Configure Customer User Options Per Organization

To change the default customer user configuration settings for an organization:

  1. Navigate to System > User Management > Organization in the main menu.

  2. For the necessary organization, hover over the More Options menu to the right of the necessary organization and click to start editing the configuration.

  3. Select Commerce > Customer > Customer Users in the menu to the left.

    Note

    For faster navigation between the configuration menu sections, use Quick Search.

    The following page opens:

    ../../../../_images/CustomerUsersPerOrganization.png
  4. The following configuration options are available:

    • Show Registration Instructions — Enables/disables registration instructions on the storefront login page. This option is disabled by default.
    • Registration Instructions Text — If Show Registration Instructions is enabled, the text provided in the field is displayed on the storefront login page.
    • Customer Visitor Cookie Lifetime (Days) — Once the provided period expires, active customer visitor (anonymous user) sessions will be reset.
  5. To customize any of these options:

    1. Clear the Use System box next to the option.
    2. Select the new option.
  6. Click Save Settings.

Configure Customer User Options Per Website

To change the default customer user configuration settings for a website:

  1. Navigate to System > Websites in the main menu.

  2. For the necessary website, hover over the More Options menu to the right of the necessary website and click to start editing the configuration.

  3. Select Commerce > Customer > Customer Users in the menu on the left.

    Note

    For faster navigation between the configuration menu sections, use Quick Search.

    The following page opens.

    ../../../../_images/CustomerUsersPerWebsite.png
  4. The following configuration options are available:

    • Default Customer Owner — Service information that determines which user has full access to managing and viewing customer information. Usually, this is the default customer administrator or the administrator assigned to the customer. Applies to the customers created in the management console as well as to those who register on the OroCommerce website.
    • Registration Allowed — Enables/disables registration of new customers from the storefront login screen.
    • Confirmation Required — Enables/disables the email confirmation step following user registration.
    • Show Registration Link — Shows/hides the registration link from the storefront login screen. The link is next to the Sign In link in the top bar.
    • Required Company Name — Shows/hides the company name field in the registration form in the storefront. Required for individual customers who do not belong to any company.
    • Show Registration Instructions — Enables/disables registration instructions on the storefront login page. This option is disabled by default.
    • Registration Instructions Text — If Show Registration Instructions is enabled, the text provided in the field is displayed on the storefront login page.
    • Enable API Key Generation — Enable/disable automatic generation of API access keys for new customer users.
  5. To customize any of these options:

    1. Clear the Use System box next to the option.
    2. Select the new option.
  6. Click Save Settings.

Configure Product and Category Visibility to Customers

By default, all categories are visible. However, an administrator can control the default visibility settings (e.g. visible or hidden) for products and product categories for customer users.

To change the default product and category visibility settings:

  1. Navigate to the system configuration (click System > Configuration in the main menu).
  2. Select Commerce > Customer > Visibility in the menu to the left.

Note

For faster navigation between the configuration menu sections, use Quick Search.

The following page opens:

../../../../_images/Visibility.png
  1. To customize any of the options:

    1. Clear the Use Default box next to the option.
    2. Select the updated setting (e.g. visible or hidden).
  2. Click Save.

Browse maintained versions:3.11.6
Back to top

You will be redirected to [title]. Would you like to continue?

Yes No