Documentation Home »Configuration Guide »Commerce Configuration »Customer »Configuring Customer
current version

Configuring Customer

OroCommerce groups customer configuration options into the following categories:

Global Configuration of Customer Users

You can enable or disable customer user registration, requesting confirmation after registration and the way OroCommerce treats password security for all websites in OroCommerce.

To change the default settings globally:

  1. Navigate to System > Configuration in the main menu.
  2. Select Commerce > Customer > Customer Users in the menu to the left.

Note

For faster navigation between the configuration menu sections, use Quick Search.

The following page opens:

The following table describes the options available on the page:

Name Description
Default Customer Owner Service information that governs which user has full access to managing and viewing the customer information. Usually, this is a default customer administrator or administrator assigned to the customer.
Registration Allowed Enables/disables new customers registration from the Store Frontend login screen.
Show Registration Link Shows/hides the registration link from the Store Frontend login screen. The link is next to the Sign In link in the top bar.
Confirmation Required Enables/disables email confirmation step after the user registration.
Require Company Name Shows/hides the company name field in the registration form in the Store Frontend. Required for the individual customers who do not belong to any company.
Send Plain Text Password In Welcome Emails Please, disable this option in a production environment.
Show Registration Instructions Enables/disables registration instructions on the front store login page. This option is disabled by default.
Registration Instructions text

If Show Registration Instructions is enabled, the text provided in the fields will be displayed on the front store login page.

  1. To customize any of these options:

    1. Clear the Use Default box next to the option.
    2. Select the new option.
  2. Click Save Settings.

Configuration of Customer Users Per Website

You can enable or disable customer user registration, requesting confirmation after registration and the way OroCommerce treats password security for a specific website in OroCommerce.

To change the default settings for a website:

  1. Navigate to the system configuration (click System > Websites in the main menu).
  2. For the necessary website, hover over the More Options menu to the right of the necessary website and click to start editing the configuration.
  3. Select Commerce > Customer Users in the menu on the left.

Note

For faster navigation between the configuration menu sections, use Quick Search.

The following page opens.

The following table describes the options available on the page:

Name Description
Default Customer Owner Service information that governs which user has full access to managing and viewing the customer information. Usually, this is a default customer administrator or administrator assigned to the customer.
Registration Allowed Enables/disables new customers registration from the Store Frontend login screen.
Show Registration Link Shows/hides the registration link from the Store Frontend login screen. The link is next to the Sign In link in the top bar.
Confirmation Required Enables/disables email confirmation step after the user registration.
Require Company Name | Shows/hides the company name field in the registration form in the Store Frontend. Required for the individual customers who do not belong to any company.
Send Plain Text Password In Welcome Emails Please, disable this option in a production environment. This option is disabled by default.
Show Registration Instructions Enables/disables registration instructions on the front store login page. This option is disabled by default.
Registration Instructions text If Show Registration Instructions is enabled, the text provided in the fields will be displayed on the front store login page.
  1. To customize any of these options:

    1. Clear the Use Default box next to the option.
    2. Select the new option.
  2. Click Save Settings.

Configuration of Customer Users Per Organization

You can enable or disable customer user registration, requesting confirmation after registration and the way OroCommerce treats password security for a specific organization in OroCommerce.

To change the default settings for an organization:

  1. Navigate to the system configuration (click System > User Management > Organization in the main menu).
  2. For the necessary organization, hover over the More Options menu to the right of the necessary organization and click to start editing the configuration.
  3. Select Commerce > Customer > Customer Users in the menu to the left.

Note

For faster navigation between the configuration menu sections, use Quick Search.

The following page opens:

The following table describes the options available on the page:

Name Description
Show Registration Instructions Enables/disables registration instructions on the front store login page. This option is disabled by default.
Registration Instructions text If Show Registration Instructions is enabled, the text provided in the fields will be displayed on the front store login page.
  1. To customize any of these options:

    1. Clear the Use Default box next to the option.
    2. Select the new option.
  2. Click Save.

Visibility

By default, all categories are visible. However, an administrator can control the default visibility settings (e.g. visible or hidden) for products and product categories for customer users.

To change the default product and category visibility settings:

  1. Navigate to the system configuration (click System > Configuration in the main menu).
  2. Select Commerce > Customer > Visibility in the menu to the left.

Note

For faster navigation between the configuration menu sections, use Quick Search.

The following page opens:

  1. To customize any of the options:

    1. Clear the Use Default box next to the option.
    2. Select the updated setting (e.g. visible or hidden).
  2. Click Save.

Browse maintained versions:
current1.41.5
ssossossosso